Professor Samir M. Parikh MD, FASN

Dr. Samir Parikh is Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology and Chief of Nephrology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School where he holds the Robert Tucker Hayes Distinguished Chair in Nephrology and the Ruth W. and Milton P. Levy, Sr., Chair in Molecular Nephrology.

His research is focused on mechanisms underlying acute kidney injury and sepsis. In recent studies, the Parikh laboratory has implicated mitochondrial maintenance as a novel pathway for resilience against acute physiological stressors. Work from his team has been published in Nature, Nature Medicine, JCI, Science Translational Medicine, PNAS and other high-impact journals.

Dr. Parikh graduated magna cum laude from Harvard with a degree in chemistry and received the Founders Medal for highest academic standing from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He completed residency and fellowship training in Nephrology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School. He attained the rank of Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School.

His mentorship and teaching have been recognized by multiple awards. Dr. Parikh is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (2017) and the American Association of Physicians (2021). He received the Outstanding Investigator Award from the National Heart Lung Blood Institute (2018), the Sir William Osler Award from the Interurban Clinical Club (2018), and ANIO’s Award for Academic Excellence (2021). Dr. Parikh received the 2019 Donald W. Seldin Award from the American Society of Nephrology and the American Heart Association. Dr Parikh received the 2021 STARS award from the state of Texas.